Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Honeck, Anne-Sophie Mutter
Lucerne Festival

mer. 06/09/2017 de 19h30 à 21h30

Fuseau horaire : Zurich (GMT+02:00)

KKL Luzern
Europaplatz 1
6005 Lucerne
Symphony Concert 26
Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Manfred Honeck, conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutterhie Mutter, violin
Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904)
Suite from the opera Rusalka,
Op. 114, arranged by Manfred Honeck
Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)
Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 Pathétique
In recent years, Anne-Sophie Mutter has devoted herself intensively to the Violin Concerto by Antonín Dvořák, aiming to anchor it in the repertoire with equal weight alongside the Brahms Concerto. The work’s Slavic tone, with its interplay of melancholy and exuberant joie de vivre, has made it particularly attractive to her. And indeed: who could resist the thrilling dance-like rhythms and ear worms of this composer – whether in the Violin Concerto or in the suite from the opera Rusalka that Manfred Honeck has arranged? Even Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony, the famous Pathétique, enchants through its melody. But the latter also shatters with its conclusion, where the music fades away into a multiple pianissimo after a grim beat on the tam-tam that sounds like the striking of the last hour. The fact that Tchaikovsky himself died only nine days after the premiere – he is said by some to have let himself become infected by cholera, possibly with a suicidal intention – has added to the myth of this symphony.
Main sponsor Credit Suisse
Photo © Monika Höfler
Source: www.facebook.com