Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Charles Dutoit, Martha Argerich
KKL Luzern

ven. 08/09/2017 de 19h30 à 21h30

Fuseau horaire : Zurich (GMT+02:00)

Lucerne Festival
Hirschmattstrasse 13
6003 Lucerne
Symphony Concert 27
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Charles Dutoit, conductor
Martha Argerich, piano
George Enescu (1881–1955)
Romanian Rhapsody in A major, Op. 11, no. 1
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
La Mer.
Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
What makes Martha Argerich such a great artist? Martin Meyer, the Swiss authority when it comes to the keyboard, sees the secret as her “passion for making music: the pianistic aspect itself suddenly becomes peripheral as the performer immerses herself totally in the works. This mastery of concentration lays a foundation on which everything else develops organically: the joy of playing, humor, wit, as well as the ability to continually highlight each interjection, each phrase, the melody and the meter.” This time “Magna Martha” will dedicate these remarkable gifts to Ludwig van Beethoven, whose concertos she has played over the 50 years of her career. Together with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Charles Dutoit, she will perform the First Piano Concerto in C major. And Dutoit for his part will conduct two pieces he singles out as his favorites: Debussy’s tone poem La mer, with its intoxicating waves of sound, and Ravel’s magic Boléro, whose repeated rhythmic patterns and massive orchestral crescendo exert an almost hypnotic effect on the listener.
Concert Sponsor: KPMG
Photo © Priska Ketterer/LUCERNE FESTIVAL